Why WordPress?

I will dedicate today’s post on explaining to you all why I post in WordPress. It is important my readers acknowledge the reasons behind it, so my readers have some sort of understanding why I write the way I do. I blog for two reasons. No, not three or five. Two. I understand it’s an awkward number given how it is between numbers one and three and it’s the first sucker behind number one. But, yes, two reasons.

Writing.

Image by Molly Norris

I dislike writing since the day I learned English. The rules are so melodramatic and absurd to the extend that I never was able to grasp it. Many talented individuals have advised me the more I write, the more I will improve.  I decided to submit to this ideology and experiment on it. When I approached WordPress and I read a post by Mostly Bright Ideas called “Pressed for Time,” I read the numerous responses on his piece, and I knew blogging would be the best tool to determine how well I write. I decided to evaluate my performance based on the following criteria: how often I post, the number of comments, subscribers, followers, and number of Freshly Pressed.

The second reason is encouraging readers to think critically. Many of us have a strong tendency to read and not critically think or respond to it. The ability to comment on posts allow readers the chance to respond and let their voices heard about certain ideas/topics. It also allows everyone to see that people from all over the world might have similar views or different views based on life experiences and cultural background.

Now that you know my reasons for blogging, why do you post on WordPress?

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by shoes on November 18, 2011 - 3:02 pm

    I blog to give myself a moment to reflect on the days events, to create a bit of a journal because I am to lazy to actually “write” with pen and paper, and to connect with other people out there in the great wide beyond. Sometimes it is difficult and I try not to make a chore out of it but overall I find it to be very rewarding.

    • #2 by TriviaYourMind on November 19, 2011 - 3:15 pm

      Same here, I feel that way as well. Hopefully I will get better at it.

  2. #3 by Steph on November 19, 2011 - 12:06 am

    I blog because I love to write. I really just started to write for myself, but then I started making people smile or think or something through my blog and that increased my enjoyment of writing. So now I journal privately for me and blog when I think it’s “Public” worthy.

    Critical thinking is SO important and it is a dying art form. I’m glad you are encouraging it.

  3. #5 by Jadyn on November 19, 2011 - 9:39 pm

    I blog because I like to share pretty things…and to think and write. Thanks for sharing your two reasons. English is my second language as well, and it’s true so many rules don’t seem to make sense! It does become easier with practice though and soon you forget about the rules and you’re expressing yourself with ease. Blogging is a great way to do that!

    • #6 by TriviaYourMind on November 19, 2011 - 9:45 pm

      Great to hear from you. Pretty things huh? Curious to know what that is. LOL! 🙂

  4. #7 by K.L.Richardson on November 26, 2011 - 8:45 am

    I blog because I find as I get older it is harder to organize my thoughts; to remember the sequence of things. I think that part of it is a kind of mental laziness-just not paying attention to the moment. So as I blog I am required to sort things out in a coherent manner thereby forcing me to use my ‘grey-matter’ more than I normally might have. AND I do like to write thanks to a favorite high school English teacher who befriended an ‘odd child’ and gave me the tools for self-expression.

    • #8 by TriviaYourMind on November 26, 2011 - 1:37 pm

      Yeah, it does help organize our thoughts as we use it. Never thought of that until I read your comment. Thanx for commenting btw.

